FIve players from Augustana and four from the University of Sioux Falls have earned all-conference honors from the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.

The Vikings' Lindsay Spanton, Jenelle Trautmann were named All-NSIC First Team and Sarah Kennedy, Mackenzie Alstott and Carley Pickett were named to the second team.

For the Cougars, Erin Scott was named first team All-NSIC with Kellen Dewey, Bailey Bouman and Amanda Walters earning second team honors.  Dewey also earned the Gold Glove at second base for USF.

Minnesota State's Lindsay Erickson was named the NSIC's Player of the Year while her teammate Coley Ries earned pitcher of the year and freshman of the year honors. Winona State pitcher Hanna Lythberg earned newcomer of the year honors. Lori Meyer was named the NSIC's Coach of the Year.

Augustana enters the NSIC tournament as the third seed, and opens against No. 6 seed Minnesota-Duluth at 12:00pm Thursday at Sherman Park.  The Vikings are ranked fourth this week in the NCAA Division II Central Region Rankings.

USF looks to continue its most successful season since transitioning to Division II and joining the NSIC as the fifth seed in the conference tournament.  The Cougars meet No. 4 Wayne State at 12:00pm Thursday at Sherman Park.

The winner of the NSIC Tournament gets an automatic bid to the Central Region tournament.  The top eight teams in the final regional reanking on May 5th also advance to the regional tournament.


Erin Scott, University of Sioux Falls Cougars softball
University of Sioux Falls

More From KSOO-AM / ESPN Sioux Falls