Tonight is the 2014 MLB Home Run Derby at Target Field in Minneapolis, MN.

Here is the list of players that will be participating this year.

National League

Troy Tulowitzki Colorado Rockies

Justin Morneau Colorado Rockies

Giancarlo Stanton Miami Marlins

Yasiel Puig LA Dodgers

Todd Frazier Cincinnati Reds


American League

Jose Bautista Toronto Blue Jays

Josh Donaldson Oakland A's

Brian Dozier Minnesota Twins

Adam Jones Baltimore Orioles

Yoenis Cespedes Oakland A's

Last years winner was Yoenis Cespedes from the Oakland A's and he looks to regain and defend his title in 2014.

I think Brian Dozier, Josh Donaldson & Todd Frazier will be early exits, while the dark horse for me is first time participant Yasiel Puig of the LA Dodgers.

Nick named the "Wild Horse", Puig certainly will be a fan favorite with his lively way of playing the game accompanied by his pure ability to play with a certain amount of swagger.

Jones and Bautista have great swings and should be considered contenders along with the teammates from Colorado in Morneau and Tulowitzki who will be trying to bring back a Home Run Derby title to the mile high.

But my pick for the 2014 MLB Home Run Derby is Giancarlo Stanton of the Miami Marlins.   He has the power, accompanied with the endurance as a young player that will allow him to last throughout the night and take the title.

We will see who the title ultimately ends up with, but one thing is always a guarantee at the HR Derby, the fans and the participants will certainly have some fun.


More From KSOO-AM / ESPN Sioux Falls