One of the best spectacles in all of sports is upon us again... The MLB Home Run Derby!

The 2016 MLB Home Run Derby marks the 32nd time the Home Run Derby will be held and this time from Petco Park in San Diego.

Although this will be the first Home Run Derby in Petco Park, this will not be the first Home Run Derby in San Diego as the 1992 All Star festivities were held at Ralph Murphy Stadium and Mark McGuire won the derby that year.

The Home Run Derby will begin at 7pm CT on ESPN and the Watch ESPN AP.

The 2016 Home Run Derby will also air on ESPN Radio and locally in Sioux Falls on ESPN 99.1. 

The rules for the Home Run Derby are as follows:

The Derby is a single elimination tournament, with each player receiving aa five minute session per round.  There is no certain amount of outs, only a clock.  During the final minute, the clock will stop with each home run as well.

Here are the match-ups for the 2016 Home Run Derby and in parenthesis are the current home run totals for each participant.

  • No. 1 Mark Trumbo (26) vs. No. 8 Corey Seager (17)
  • No. 2 Todd Frazier (23) vs. No. 7 Carlos Gonzalez (18)
  • No. 3 Adam Duvall (22) vs. No. 6 Wil Myers (19)
  • No. 4 Robinson Cano (20) vs. No. 5 Giancarlo Stanton (19)

The odds for the 2016 Home Run Derby are below as well VIA

  • Stanton: +350
  • Trumbo: +375
  • Myers: +550
  • Frazier: +600
  • Duvall: +600
  • Cano: +800
  • Gonzalez: +800
  • Seager: +900

Todd Frazier is the defending champion from last year in Cincinnati and is trying to join Ken Griffey Jr. and Yoenis Cespedes as the only two to go back to back as champs of the derby.

See Also: