Law enforcement officials in South Dakota have announced the October locations for sobriety checkpoints around the state.

After setting up sobriety checkpoints in 20 checkpoints in 15 counties in September, the Department of Public Safety is conducting 22 sobriety checkpoints in 18 counties during the month of October.

In a press release, the DPS outlined the counties impacted:

KSOO-AM / ESPN Sioux Falls logo
Get our free mobile app


  • Brookings County
  • Brown County
  • Butte County
  • Charles Mix County
  • Coddington County
  • Davison County
  • Fall River County
  • Hughes County
  • Jerauld County
  • Jones County
  • Lawrence County
  • Lincoln County
  • Meade County
  • Minnehaha County
  • Pennington County
  • Roberts County
  • Spink County
  • Stanley County

As is typical with these announcements, the exact dates, times, and locations of each checkpoint are not being disclosed. The monthly checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

LOOK: Food history from the year you were born

From product innovations to major recalls, Stacker researched what happened in food history every year since 1921, according to news and government sources.

Sioux Falls' Most Underrated Restaurants

More From KSOO-AM / ESPN Sioux Falls