The NBA D-League continues to expand and now the Minnesota Timberwolves are jumping into the party. Minnesota has purchased the Iowa Energy.

Jerry Zgoda of the Minneapolis Star Tribune is reporting that the Timberwolves have come to terms to buy the Iowa Energy, which is based out of Des Moines. He also notes that with the move it makes Minnesota the 18th team to have full control over a D-League franchise.

Minnesota considered a few options with the most notable being that they considered purchasing the Sioux Falls Skyforce.

Iowa will finish out the 2016-2017 season in a hybrid affiliation with Memphis. Minnesota will take over for the 2017-2018 season.

Teams remaining without a future affiliation with a NBA D-League team include Denver, Los Angeles Clippers, Milwaukee, New Orleans, Portland, and Washington.

More information regarding the purchase can be found here.

More From KSOO-AM / ESPN Sioux Falls