Former Minnesota Twins players Tori Hunter, Justin Morneau, David Ortiz, Joe Nathan, and A.J.Pierzynski are among a group of players who will be considered for the National Baseball Hall of Fame this winter.

There are 13 first-time candidates on the Hall of Fame ballot:
Justin Morneau
Joe Nathan
David Ortiz
Alex Rodriguez
Ryan Howard
Tim Lincecum
Jimmy Rollins
Jake Peavy
Carl Crawford
Prince Fielder
Jonathan Papelbon
Mark Teixeira

KSOO-AM / ESPN Sioux Falls logo
Get our free mobile app

Others on the ballot for this year include former Minnesota Twins outfielder Tori Hunter,

For the final time at a shot into the HOF are Barry Bonds, Curt Schilling, and Roger Clemens.

According to ESPN, holdovers include Bobby Abreu, Mark Buehrle, Todd Helton, Tim Hudson, Torii Hunter, Andruw Jones, Jeff Kent, Andy Pettitte, Manny Ramirez, Gary Sheffield, Sammy Sosa, Omar Vizquel, and Billy Wagner.

And that's not all. Minnesota Twins greats Tony Oliva and Jim Kaat are among a class of their own. Players that recognized by the Golden Days Era and Early Baseball Era committees.

This year's class will be announced on January 25.

Each summer Major League Baseball holds the induction ceremony into the Hall at Cooperstown. July 24 those elected will be honored.


15 Professional Athletes From Minnesota

More From KSOO-AM / ESPN Sioux Falls