Jimmie Johnson won the season finale at Homestead-Miami and the season championship in NASCAR Sprint Cup on Sunday.

It was Johnson's seventh time winning the championship. He joins Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt, Sr. as the only three drivers in history to win the title that many times.

There is now a three way tie at the top of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion list for the amount of times winning. Johnson is the youngest of the three at the point of taking the seventh championship title.

Johnson is 41. Petty captured his seventh title at age 42 in 1979 and Earnhardt was 43 at his seventh championship victory in 1994.

Sunday's race went into overtime going a total of 268 laps. Race winner Jimmie Johnson only led 3 laps. He made the best restart of his life on the final wave of the green flag. He moved out front and stayed there.

Johnson started back in the field and just kept moving forward all day. At the end he did what he needed to do, and that was to keep Joey Logano and Kyle Busch behind him.

Kyle Larson came in second. Kevin Harvick was third. Championship contender Joey Logano finished in fourth and Jamie McMurray was fifth. See where your driver finished.

More From KSOO-AM / ESPN Sioux Falls