A milestone was reached for Kent Kolsrud and the O'Gorman Lady Knights, while Derek Robey's squad went on to win their first title since 2012.

Championship night in Rapid City started with an overtime thriller as the O'Gorman Lady Knights knocked off the top seeded Harrisburg Tigers 53-48. O'Gorman entered the tournament as the seventh seed and were led by Sebastian Akoi's, who will be attending Southwest Minnesota State, 18 points.

This is the first championship for the O'Gorman Lady Knights in Class AA since 1995, and also the first championship for head coach Kent Kolsrud. Kolsrud was 0-4 in his previous attempts and the fifth time ended up being the charm. Even more crazy is that he won his first title while winning his 300th game at the school

Jerry Palleschi/ESPN 99.1
Jerry Palleschi/ESPN 99.1

The nightcap featured the O'Gorman Knights looking to win a championship after going 17-3 during the regular season. They were met with a tough Aberdeen Central squad, but JP Costillo led the Knights with 27 points (finished with 69 total points in the three rounds) to help O'Gorman win their first title since 2012. Future Augustana basketball player Matt Cartwright added 14 points in the victory.

O'Gorman has now won four championships since 2010 under head coach Derek Robey.

This is the first time since 2000 (Roosevelt) that a school has won both the boys and girls Class AA championships in the same season.

Congratulations to the O'Gorman Knights!

More From KSOO-AM / ESPN Sioux Falls