20 individuals will be honored by the South Dakota High School Activities Association during the 2019 South Dakota football championships.

From coaches to officials, each year the SDHSAA takes time to recognize individuals for their dedication to South Dakota sports and also for the seasons that they had.

Sioux Falls Lincoln head football coach Jared Fredenburg will be honored as a region coach of the year. The Patriots finished the regular season 8-1. Two Sioux Falls based officials will also be recognized for years of service. Tom Penisten will be honored for 25 years, while John McGarth will be honored for 40 years.

Award recipients will be honored during halftime of the Class 11AA and 11AAA championship games on Friday.

Halftime of the Class 11AA Championship

  • SDHSAA Distinguished Service Award Recipient, Coaching Category – Gary Maffett, Brookings
  • Steve Withorne Memorial Award Recipient (presented in recognition of an athletic official’s outstanding contributions and long-time dedication to promoting the development of officials)  – Mark Smith, Pierre
  • Doug Koester Memorial Award (presented to recognize contributions from officials to not just sports, but their community as a whole) – Jay Larsen, Brookings

Halftime of the Class 11AAA Championship

SDHS Football Coaches Association Region Coaches of the Year

  • Tanner Chrstiansen, Webster Area
  • Dusty Hourigan, Deuel
  • Mark Senftner, Sully Buttes
  • Chris Koletzky, Sturgis Brown
  • Jared Fredenburg, Sioux Falls Lincoln
  • Jake Terry, Elk Point-Jefferson
  • John King, Gregory
  • Brady Carmichael, New Underwood

SDHSFBCA Friend of Football – Barb Haberling, Miller

SDHSFBCA 40-Year Coaching Award Recognition – Jeff VanLeur, Emery

SDHSAA 25-Year Officiating Award Recipient – Tom Penisten, Sioux Falls

SDHSAA 40-Year Officiating Award Recipients

  • David Krause, New Effington
  • John McGrath, Sioux Falls
  • Marty Miller, Jr., Viborg
  • Mark Smith, Pierre

National Federation Officials Association, Football Official of the Year – Matt Clark, Huron

More From KSOO-AM / ESPN Sioux Falls