The South Dakota High School Activities Association will honor all of the teams that qualified for the 2019-2020 state basketball tournaments.

Five of the six state basketball tournaments never took the court due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Class B girls' tournament was underway and entering day two when it was shut down. Corsica-Stickney, Faith, Castlewood, and De Smet all advanced to the semifinal round.

With Class AA, A, and B-boys all never taking the court, the question of how to honor state tournament teams continued to be a major discussion. The SDHSAA has determined how to do so in their April Board of Directors meeting.

Teams that qualified for the state tournament will be presented with a plaque that says "State Quarterfinalists" on it. This includes all teams in Class AA, A, and B-Boys. For Class B Girls, Corsica-Stickney, Faith, Castlewood, and De Smet will receive plaques that say "State Semifinalists." The teams that lost in the Class B Girls quarterfinal round ( Irene-Wakonda, Howard, Ethan, and Faulkton Area) will get "State Consolation Finalists."

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all winter and spring events for the 2019-2020 seasons were canceled. Activities and athletics through the SDHSAA will aim to begin again in the Fall of 2020.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app

12 Sports Video Games I Couldn't Put Down as a Kid


More From KSOO-AM / ESPN Sioux Falls